top of page

Have a comment?  Scroll all the way to the bottom and add your thoughts.

  • Writer's pictureRed Thistle

Jennifer Kelly Dances Video Session, Jennifer Kelly, 5/2/16

Thanks to everyone

who helped today! You were all great and very patient. Its not easy because every little thing shows on the camera. Also today was a major learning experience for all of us. Hopefully many of us learnt from our early video work, but it was a while ago!

Today went much as I hoped it would. We started a little behind my schedule but I really expected that. The set up is major and takes a while. I doubt we can speed that part up very much, and Chris agrees with me. However when we have scrutinized what was recorded we may be able to come up with some simplifications. We finished the first dance 30 minutes behind but progressively caught onto schedule. I think it would have been  huge mistake to redo Corn Riggs at the end; we were all tired and if necessary we can do it again later.

The dancing was excellent, and as always Red Thistle rises to the challenge. Were we perfect? No but we did some excellent work, and I liked a lot of what I saw on Camera. Takes or retakes are fine, but it is amazing how often the first take is the best. Someone pointed out that one time we had to cut early and then the first full take was excellent.

It will be a while before the next session, but I am sure Jennifer is thinking about the program already!

Many thanks go to Chris for all his hard work. In a way his job is only just beginning, and a lot of effort and support will be needed to get through the pre editing and then the editing phases.

Thanks all again, but I do have one request that I would ask you to respond to fairly soon! I would welcome feedback of any kind on how to improve what we are doing and how to organize the day and sequencing better. Please send me emails and I will study them on airplanes or on snail email in Italy!

John

1 view0 comments
bottom of page